top of page
Blog and Updates: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlyssa Tobita

Into the main draw!




First day in Cancun was just a nice practice session and drenched clothes. Traveling here was a bit of a struggle for me, since I have absolutely no Spanish vocabulary. Luckily my coach, Blake, and his wife, Aline can speak pretty well so I basically stand in the background as they take care of the traveling and communicating with everyone here. So far the only word I feel confident enough to say is gracias! Hopefully in a month my vocab will expand. I’m trying to work on numbers next.


Anyways, it was an exciting first day of tournament play in Cancun! I won my first match in the qualifying draw 6-2, 6-2. The weather is extremely hot and humid here so there is a lot of sweating.... a lot. My second match of the day was a tough one. I won the first set 6-1, and we went back and forth in the second. In the second set tiebreaker, it was 1-1 when my leg started cramping and spazzing. I tried an underhand serve because I couldn’t jump, then my second serve just tap it in but I double faulted. Trying to move to the other side, I couldn’t walk so I had to sit down on the court and a trainer came over to stretch me out and massage my leg. I got back on my feet and droppshoted nearly every shot to luckily win the 6 points and the tiebreaker 7-2! After I shook hands I tried to walk to the side but my legs were cramping so bad I just sat down on the ground while my calves were full on cramping. I laid there for a while, and Blake laughed at me.


These two wins get me into my first main draw match so I’m excited to play!! Luckily I had a day of rest today, and I’m quite sore but resting and drinking lots of liquids. Stay tuned to hear about my match tomorrow!

176 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page