top of page
Blog and Updates: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlyssa Tobita

Replacing Maria Sharapova at the Hawaii Open


What an experience! I got to play in the invitational called the Hawaii Open. It was played at the Stan Sherif Center this year. Last year I got the opportunity to play in the doubles exhibition, but this year I got asked to play in the real deal!... because Maria sharapova had to pull out last minute due to injury.

I was quite nervous to play in front of so many people! It was also broadcasted On the Tennis Channel which is crazy!!! I’m So lucky for all the support of people who came to watch me and the other who watched on TV. It was such an amazing experience. I played Yanina Wickmayer, previously world #12. She hits such a deep ball and had a huge serve. It was fun to play! Here are some photos from the event. I’m so thankful I was able to play against one of the best in the world in front of friends and family!!

side note: I got photos with Kei Nishikori, Taylor Fritz, and Sam Querry as well :)


36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page